JNC Young Scientist Paper of the Year Award

In honor of Mark A. Smith

JNC Young Scientist Paper of the Year Award

In Honor of Mark A. Smith

The award pays tribute to Mark’s long service to the Journal as a Handling Editor and Deputy Chief Editor, Reviews. Tragically, Mark was killed in a vehicle accident on December 19, 2010. This annual award is in recognition of the contribution of an outstanding young scientist to an exceptional research paper published in the Journal of Neurochemistry.

If the first author is up to 8 years into scientific career post PhD, the manuscript will be eligible for the Mark A. Smith Award. The Chief and Deputy Chief Editors select the winning paper from all the qualifying articles in the Journal of Neurochemistry in the award year.


See the winners

The 2010 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

Congratulations to Jennie Cederholm for Conformational changes in extracellular loop two associated with signal transduction in the glycine receptorJ. Neurochem. 115, 1245-1255. Jennie M. E. Cederholm, Nathan L. Absalom, Silas Sugiharto, Renate Griffith, Peter R. Schofield and Trevor M. Lewis (2010).